top of page

Jazz concerts 

To mark the 35th edition of 1001 Pots, we're offering a selection of professional jazz concerts every Saturday afternoon. The concerts are free of charge, and you can enjoy them seated or during your visit to the exhibition. 

Lumières étincelantes

Bal des lucioles evening concert

Friday July 5 2024
7 p.m to 10 p.m

Quartet 

Musicians:

Fred Darveau - Doublebasse

Robert Ménard - Guitar

Alain Bastien - Drums

Michel Dubeau - Sax

Open air jazz concert

Saturday July 6 2024
2 p.m to 5.30 p.m

Trio Repertoire consisting of jazz standards and 70s pop pieces with a jazz twist.

Musicians:

Fred Darveau - Doublebasse

Robert Ménard - Guitar

Alain Bastien - Drums

Violonistes à l'extérieur
Groupe de musique

Open air jazz concert

Saturday July 13 2024
2 p.m to 5.30 p.m

Jazz trio offering jazz standards with the swinging sounds of Oscar Peterson

Musicians:

Fred Darveau - Doublebasse

Robert Ménard - Guitar

Maxim Saint-Pierre - Trumpet

Open air jazz concert

Saturday July 20 2024
2 p.m to 5.30 p.m

 

Trio featuring jazz standards with saxophone in the spotlight

Musicians:

Fred Darveau - Doublebasse

Robert Ménard - Guitar

François D'Amour - Sax

julio-lopez-Xf5BJ9fnbfM-unsplash.jpg
Image de Dolo Iglesias

Open air jazz concert

Saturday July 27 2024
2 p.m to 5.30 p.m

Trio offering soulful tunes from the mowtown and funk repertoires.

Musicians:

Robert Ménard - Guitar

Lorrie Goodman - Organ

Alain Bastien - Drums

Open air jazz concert

Saturday August 3 2024
2 p.m to 5.30 p.m

Jazz trio, Jazz standard with Bluesy flavor

Musicians:

Robert Ménard - Guitar

Lorrie Goodman - Organ

Francois D'amour - Sax

Joueur Contrebasse
austin-prock-Hz3Kjzgyv_Q-unsplash.jpg

Open air jazz concert

Saturday August 10 2024
2 p.m to 5.30 p.m

Trio, gypsy music

Musicians:

Fred Darveau - Doublebasse

Jeff Moseley - Guitar 

Alain Bastien - Drums

Open air jazz concert

Saturday August 17 2024
2 p.m to 5.30 p.m

Quartet Jazz standards  

Musicians:

Fred Darveau - Doublebasse

Robert Ménard - Guitar

Alain Bastien - Drums

Michel Dubeau - Sax

bruno-justo-pego-HeWRZ5-5Kt0-unsplash.jpg

François D'Amours is a highly sought-after saxophonist in both jazz and popular music circles. He has performed with Michel Cusson, Alain Caron, Gino Vannelli, Lulu Hughes, Michel Pagliaro, Whip Cream, Lynda Lemay, Bob Walsh, Lara Fabian, Marie-DenisePelletier, Paolo Ramos, Isabelle Boulay and many others. He has also appeared on many television and radio programs, and on numerous records with many Quebec and international artists.

Throughout his career, double bassist Michel Donato has collaborated with artists such as Oscar Peterson, Art Blakey, Bill Evans, Charles Aznavour, Jacques Brel, Félix Leclerc, Jean-Pierre Ferland, Karen Young, Louis Hayes, Lorraine Desmarais, Joe Morello, Oliver Jones, Ginette Reno, Zoot Sims, Benny Carter, etc., and is a member of the Order of Canada.

Michel Dubeau is a classically trained jazz musician who has played with Guy Nadon, Bernard Primeau, Michel Cusson, Oliver Jones, Andrée Boudreault and others. From 2008 to 2010, he was multi-ventist with Gilles Vigneault.

He is currently the multi-ventist in Premier Ciel ensemble, which plays the music of Harmonium. He also specializes in flutes and wind instruments from around the world, making him in demand for projects such as Cavalia (2011) and Cirque du Soleil (2014) by composers Michel Cusson, Benoit Charest and Anthony Rozankovic.

Robert Ménard, although mainly self-taught, studied jazz guitar at McGill University with Mike Gauthier. He performs regularly in establishments (bars, restaurants, etc.), music festivals, corporate events and concert halls throughout Quebec. For the past dozen years, he has had the privilege of collaborating with Michel Donato on the Simplement Jazz project. Two albums and over eighty concerts have resulted from this collaboration.

Alex Grogg is essentially self-taught. He worked as a pianist in clubs and restaurants in Montreal, and abroad on cruise ships. In 1999, he turned professional. At a very early age, he played with the late drummers Guy Nadon (at the Montreal Jazz Festival) and Bernard Primeau (on tour in Hungary), then with bassist Normand Guilbeault (at Radio-Canada). Later it was singer Sonia Johnson (Don't explain) and bassist Alain Bédard (numerous tours in Canada and Europe) with whom he made his first recordings.

Alain Bastien, who studied at UdeM, has performed both in Canada and abroad (USA, China, France, Belgium, Germany, Greece, Spain, Italy, Switzerland, Mexico, etc.), with artists as diverse as Jean Beaudet, Yves Léveillé, Yannick Rieu, Benoit Charest, J-S Williams, Joe Grass, Térez Montcalm, Abraham Barrera, Carl Naud, and many more.

Lorrie Goodman began playing professionally at the age of 17, drawing his influences from Ray Charles and other artists on the American soul and jazz scene. Recruited by the Quebec disco and funk scene, he played keyboards in discotheques and show bars throughout the 80's. He performs regularly in Montreal jazz clubs such as l'Airdu Temps, Biddles, Upstairs etc.... A master of the Hammond b3l organ, he has recorded several albums with Canadian and American collaborators.

Fred Darveau is a professional bassist and double bass player who has accompanied many artists in America and Europe. For over 20 years now, he has been the musical director of several projects, including Danse Lhasa Danse. With his company 1888MUSIQUE, he also devotes himself to music production and show design.

bottom of page

top of page

Après-midi Jazz

Afin de souligner la 35 ème édition de 1001 Pots, nous vous proposons une sélection de concerts de jazz professionnels tous les samedis après-midi. Les concerts sont gratuits et sans réservation, vous pourrez en profiter assis ou pendant votre visite de l'exposition. 

Lumières étincelantes

Concert

Bal des lucioles 

Vendredi 5 juillet 2024
De 19 h à 22 h

Quartet, standards de Jazz 

Musiciens:

Fred Darveau - Contrebasse

Robert Ménard - Guitare

Alain Bastien - Batterie

Michel Dubeau - Sax

Après-midi Jazz

Samedi 6 juillet 2024
De 14 h à 17h30

Trio jazz au répertoire composé de standards de Jazz et de pièces de la pop des années 70 aux couleurs Jazz.

Musiciens:

Fred Darveau - Contrebasse

Robert Ménard - Guitare

Alain Bastien - Batterie

Violonistes à l'extérieur
Groupe de musique

Après-midi Jazz

Samedi 13 juillet 2024
De 14 h à 17h30

Trio jazz offrant des standards de musique jazz aux sonorités swing d'Oscar Peterson.

Musiciens:

Fred Darveau - Contrebasse

Robert Ménard - Guitare

Maxim Saint-Pierre - Trompette

Après-midi Jazz

Samedi 20 juillet 2024
De 14 h à 17h30

Trio jazz offrant des standards de Jazz dans lesquels le saxophone est à l'honneur

Musiciens:

Fred Darveau - Contrebasse

Robert Ménard - Guitare

François D'Amour - Sax

julio-lopez-Xf5BJ9fnbfM-unsplash.jpg
Image de Dolo Iglesias

Après-midi Jazz

Samedi 27 juillet 2024
De 14 h à 17h30

Trio

Trio offrant des pièces soul tirés du répertoire mowtown et funk.

Musiciens:

Robert Ménard - Guitare

Lorrie Goodman - Orgue

Alain Bastien - Batterie

Après-midi Jazz

Samedi 3 août 2024
De 14 h à 17h30

Trio 

Trio jazz, standard de Jazz avec saveur Bluesy

Musiciens:

Robert Ménard - Guitare

Lorrie Goodman - Orgue

Francois D'amour - Sax

Joueur Contrebasse
austin-prock-Hz3Kjzgyv_Q-unsplash.jpg

Après-midi Jazz

Samedi 10 août 2024
De 14 h à 17h30

Trio de musique manouche

Musiciens:

Fred Darveau - Contrebasse

Jeff Moseley - Guitare 

Alain Bastien - Batterie

Après-midi Jazz

Samedi 17 août 2024
De 14 h à 17h30

Quartet aux standards de Jazz

Musiciens:

Fred Darveau - Contrebasse

Robert Ménard - Guitare

Alain Bastien - Batterie

Michel Dubeau - Sax

bruno-justo-pego-HeWRZ5-5Kt0-unsplash.jpg

François D'Amours est un saxophoniste très en demande tant dans le milieu dujazz que de la musique populaire. On a pu le voir et l'entendre aux côtés deMichel Cusson, Alain Caron, Gino Vannelli, Lulu Hughes, Michel Pagliaro, legroupe Whip Cream, Lynda Lemay, Bob Walsh, Lara Fabian, Marie-DenisePelletier, Paolo Ramos, Isabelle Boulay et bien d'autres. Il a aussiparticipé à plusieurs émissions de télévision et de radio ainsi que sur denombreux disques avec plusieurs artistes québécois et internationaux.

Michel Donato contrebassiste a tout au long de sa carrière a multiplié les collaborations avec différents artistes tels Oscar Peterson, Art Blakey, Bill Evans, Charles Aznavour, Jacques Brel, Félix Leclerc, Jean-Pierre Ferland, Karen Young, Louis Hayes, Lorraine Desmarais, Joe Morello, Oliver Jones, Ginette Reno, Zoot Sims, Benny Carter, etc., en plus d'être membre de

l'Ordre du Canada !

Michel Dubeau est un Musicien de formation classique et jazz, Il a joué avec Guy Nadon, Bernard Primeau, Michel Cusson, Oliver Jones, Andrée Boudreault entre autres. Il a été de 2008 à 2010 multi-ventiste avec Gilles Vigneault.

Présentement il est le multi-ventiste dans Premier Ciel ensemble qui joue la musique d'Harmonium. Il se spécialise aussi en flutes et instruments à vent du monde, ce qui en fait quelqu'un en demande dans divers projets tel que : Cavalia(2011), Cirque du Soleil(2014) des compositeurs : Michel Cusson, Benoit Charest et Anthony Rozankovic.

Robert Ménard, bien que principalement autodidacte, il a étudié la guitare Jazz à l'université McGill avec Mike Gauthier. Il performe régulièrement dans les établissements (bars, restos, etc...), les festivals de musique, les évènements corporatifs et les salles de spectacle partout à travers le Québec. Depuis environ une douzaine d'années, il a le privilège de collaborer avec Michel Donato au projet Simplement Jazz. Deux albums et plus de quatre-vingts concerts sont nés de cette collaboration.

Alex Grogg est essentiellement autodidacte. Il a roulé sa bosse comme pianiste dans les clubs et les restaurants de Montréal et aussi à l'étranger sur les bateaux de croisière. À partir de 1999, il entreprend une véritable activité professionnelle. Très jeune il joue avec les défunts batteurs Guy Nadon (Festival de jazz de Montréal) et Bernard Primeau (tournée en Hongrie), puis le contrebassiste Normand Guilbeault (à Radio-Canada). Plus tard c'est la chanteuse Sonia Johnson (Don't explain) et le contrebassiste Alain Bédard (nombreuses tournées au Canada et en Europe) avec lesquels il a pu concrétiser ses premiers enregistrements.

Alain Bastien qui a fait ses études à l'UdeM s'est produit tant sur la scène Canadienne qu'à l'Internationale (États-Unis, Chine, France, Belgique, Allemagne, Grèce, Espagne, Italie, Suisse, Mexique etc.) en compagnie d'artistes aussi divers que Jean Beaudet, Yves Léveillé, Yannick Rieu, Benoit Charest, J-S Williams, Joe Grass, Térez Montcalm, Abraham Barrera, Carl Naud, etc.

Lorrie Goodman a commencé à jouer professionnellement dès l'âge de 17 ans.Il puise ses influences de Ray Charles et autres artistes de la scène soulet jazz américaine. Recruté par la scène disco et funk québécoise, il joueles claviers dans les discothèques et les show bars pendant les années 80.Il se produit régulièrement dans les boites de jazz montréalaise comme l'Airdu Temps, chez Biddles, Upstairs etc.... Maitrisant l'orgue Hammond b3l'orgue, il enregistre plusieurs albums avec des collaborateurs canadiens etaméricains.

Fred Darveau est un bassiste et contrebassiste professionnel qui a accompagné plusieurs artistes en Amérique et en Europe. Depuis maintenant plus de 20 ans, Il assure la direction musicale de plusieurs projets dont Danse Lhasa Danse. Également, avec son entreprise 1888MUSIQUE, il se consacre à la production musicale et à la conception de spectacles.

bottom of page